Mongolian beer bottle opener

I was really quite surprised, when at the hunting lodge, Baatar mentioned to me that Obama had won the Nobel Peace Prize.  I had not heard about it until then.  After we discussed the merits of him receiving the prize, we talked about some of the “inventions” that should have also earned the Nobel prize.  I’ve heard the pros and cons about his getting the reward, but I can say this: he has certianly bridged the gap between the US and many other nations (Russia comes to mind).

Later, it became a running joke throughout the week as we pointed out some of the “genius” inventions that should have received the prize: the hooded sweatshirt, the timer on the digital camera, the bic lighter, and of course, the bottle opener.

Forget the bottle opener; one of the most clever inventions I had seen yet was the bottle opener built right into the bottom of the Kazakh & Mongolian beer bottles.  When you need to pop a bottle cap off, you just insert it into another beer bottle bottom and twist it right off.  I captured this video of it in action:

 

This video has been moved to: http://scotttraveler.com/2009/11/11/mongolian-beer-bottle-opener/

 

Stories, posts, reports, photos, videos and all other content on this site is copyright protected © and is  the property of Scott Traveler, all rights reserved; content on this site may be reproduced for non-commercial purposes provided that it is attributed to Scott Traveler at:

https://scotttraveler.wordpress.com

Back to home page: https://scotttraveler.wordpress.com

4 Responses to “Mongolian beer bottle opener”

  1. That’s amazing. I must admit I haven’t seen anything like that before. Guess we should have tried drinking beer in UB :)

  2. J. Robbins Says:

    Made well and it works. I originally bought another wall mounted opener because it was made of brass. I assumed it would just work. It’s only a bottle opener, right? Well surprise surprise that thing was a menace. People trying to use it would either not be able to get a cap off at all or they would get it half off with the bottle tipped and beer would pour out on the floor. I don’t know what the difference is all I know is this opener works and the other one didn’t.

  3. oh god you even tried our brand beer “fusion”. it’s really good !

Leave a comment